It all starts with a click

It’s oh-so-easy to do stuff on the internet. A couple of clicks and before you know it you’ve bought a 100 pack of tennis balls, £40 of shampoo or entry to a desert ultramarathon.

The latter is me this week. I’ve signed up for the Wadi Rum Ultra in Jordan. This October I will be running 260km through the desert.

Screenshot_20170326-160653
wadirumultra.com

No, that’s not a typo, it is 260km through a desert. You know, those hot places. I do feel a bit sick if I think about it properly. In fact, I’m shitting myself. The thought of it scares the hell out of me, genuinely. Right now I’m not quite sure how I’m actually going to be able to do it.

But, nothing ventured, nothing gained. I just know I can’t blag this one. There’s no just turning up and hoping it will all be OK. So as long as I do some research, some preparation and lots of training, I reckon I can give it a go. I remember back in the day when I didn’t think I’d ever be able to run 5km. This is kind of the same thing, just scaled slightly higher, right?

It’s supposed to be a challenge, and yes, to those people who have questioned it, I know it’s extreme, but please don’t tell me I can’t do it. I do know what I’m doing and will be training for this one. It scares the crap out of me but a wise person once told me that you should do things that scare you. It will certainly be a life experience.

Check back here for updates on training progress over the next few months.

 

 

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

